If you have a milk or dairy allergy, you probably use some kind of dairy substitute in your everyday life. These days, lactose-intolerant people and people with dairy allergies have a lot of options for milks that don't contain dairy. Almost milk, coconut milk, cashew milk, even soy milk are all very popular. They're also used by vegans and vegetarians. Plenty of people use diary alternatives just because they like them better, too! But regardless of the reasons you use diary alternatives, finding out that your almond milk might contain dairy is probably quite the shock, and not something the majority of people will be happy to learn. So anyone effected by this latest almond milk recall is, we're guessing, pretty upset.
HP Hood, the company that makes Almond Breeze almond milk, has issued a voluntary recall for nearly 150,000 half-gallon containers of almond milk, because the containers may contain actual cow's milk. Uh oh!
Well that’s disturbing! To all my plant based peeps out there, and those that are lactose intolerant, check your cartons if you have Almond Breeze in the fridge! 🌱😟😳🤢🌱 * Cows 🐄 milk 🥛 was accidentally added to almond milk production. 🌱✌🏼🌱 * * * * #productrecall #almondmilk #almondbreeze #oops #lactoseintolerant
The product included in the recall is Vanilla Almond Breeze Almond Milk. According to the recall notice released by the company, it affects just a small portion of products. But the recall was issued because dairy is not listed in the allergen information on the label. People with severe of life-threatening dairy sensitivities or allergies would be in danger if they drank a contaminated batch.
The cartons being recalled were sold in 28 states: Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nebraska, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and Wisconsin. The products have a use-by date of September 2, 2018, and the UPC code 41570 05621.
The company says that the almond milk is safe to drink by people who don't have any allergies or sensitivities to dairy or lactose. They're urging consumers who purchased the affected product to return it to the start where it was purchased for an exchange or full refund. So, if you are an almond milk drinker, check what you have in your fridge! Regardless of why you use dairy substitutes, it always sucks to find out the product you're consuming isn't what it claims to be.
Leave A Comment
Looking for an AD FREE EXPERIENCE on Moms?Get Your Free Access Now!